人道關懷活動
國際山達基教會出版

始於1968年
分享

人道關懷活動:推動慈善工作

當人們需要幫助時,一系列的社會改善計畫垂手可得。

這是動盪不安的一年:殺人案在美國各城市竄升,成千上萬人死於海洛因和鴉片類藥物。地震、火災和水災摧毀了無數家園,衝突持續不斷,禍及許多國家。為了要解除這種蜂擁而至的悲傷,山達基教會及其成員與無數社區團體,一起減輕受害者的負擔、協助需要幫助的人、用教會贊助的人道主義計畫,把希望帶給每個人。

世界所有進展幾乎都要靠教育。所以,教師、輔導老師、社會工作者、執法人員、社區倡導者和領導者,共超過100多個國家,在2016年著手教導和賦予更多人力量,讓社會能脫離下降螺旋。

1億人

人權團結聯盟是一個非營利倡導團體,國際總部設在洛杉磯,在全球教育了1億人關於《世界人權宣言》的三十條人權──於1948年由多數國家採用,以防二次大戰的暴行再次發生。人權團結聯盟與1,500個團體及組織攜手合作,已在192個國家發送世界宣言。

192個國家

透過教育大眾與生俱來的人權,包括《人權的故事》影片、30則公益短片和詳盡的教育人士工具,人權團結聯盟及其青少年人權配套計畫,不斷改善人們的心態和全國性的政策。在墨西哥,國家憲法如今包括世界人權宣言,有一部分是因為青少年人權的參與者孜孜不倦地執行這個活動。

180條相關法律通過

另一個全球人權活動是公民人權委員會(CCHR),由山達基教會於1969年成立,是世界上最重要的心理健康監督者。公民人權委員會現在在34個國家已經有超過250個分會,讓精神科的虐行驟降。參與者使用一系列CCHR紀錄片、媒體、出版品與展覽,來教育官員與大眾,並起訴罪行與通過立法來保護市民──現今有超過180條相關法律通過。

「教育」也是教會贊助的毒品的真相活動的精髓。無毒世界基金會帶頭成為全球最大型的民間反毒資訊與防範計畫組織。毒品的真相教材已經觸及到全球2億人。

25%毒品濫用率下降

透過這個紀錄片、17部公益短片、學校教案與14本毒品的真相手冊,描述常被濫用的毒品藥物,這個活動灌輸年輕人事實,所以他們可以自己做決定。如義大利參議員所說:「我想恭賀各位,在你們的努力下,我們國家的毒品濫用率下降了25%,各位功不可沒。……我知道各位會一直努力,直到我們國家的年輕人能夠自己下決定,過著無毒的生活。」

然而,那些屈服於有危險性毒品藥物的人,他們不是變成毒蟲,就是在蹲牢房,但山達基創始人暨人道主義者L. 羅恩 賀伯特,找到了解決方案。那可拿──一項非宗教計畫,根據那些解決方案處理成癮者,他們是人,只是生活上有問題,而不是有慢性疾病。小心謹慎地讓成癮者通過無藥戒斷程序,然後指引他做完排毒計畫,這個計畫使用營養品、運動與烤箱來排除毒品殘留物,去除吸毒的渴望。戒毒的學生接著上生活技能研修,獲得這些工具能讓他們去處理當時自己開始吸毒的壓力,進而幫助他們保持健康,過著無毒的生活。

然而如果一個人做錯了選擇、進牢房,也有可明納,它不只專門處理因毒品而進監獄的問題,也讓罪犯恢復、過著無犯罪的生活──擁有自尊。

1.17億本書

因此,《快樂之道》──一本非宗教、改善生活的常識指南,由賀伯特先生所著,以輕鬆易懂的語言列出21條守則。這些建設性的原則和有意義的價值觀,把平靜的影響力散播到世界各地:在2016年結束時,有超過1億1千7百萬本書以114種語言在世界流通。再加上一部完整的影片、21則公益短片與教育人士工具,經過教育後,馬上就出現了成果,暴力與犯罪率隨之下降。

當然,賀伯特先生已認知到,要遠離毒品與犯罪的關鍵──同時也是為了在生活各層面獲得成功──關鍵就是教育。應用教育協會是一個非宗教組織,在72個國家有1,000多個團體,讓學生更有機會獲得教育、使用賀伯特先生的學習技術變成有生產力的成人;學習技術教人如何學習,因此可以精通各行各業。

除了以上這些解決方案,還有另一項計畫,體現了教會的宗教社會使命:山達基志願牧師(VM)。志願牧師的座右銘就是「事情是有辦法解決的」。這項計畫包含了一系列工具,包括如何改善溝通、處理衝突、克服學習問題、改善組織、減輕疾病和傷害造成的精神痛苦。賀伯特先生創立VM計畫,作為跨宗教領域的先鋒,無論什麼情況、地點,不分種族信仰或民族性,志願牧師都會伸出援手幫助需要幫助的人。

1,000個組織

當天災人禍粉碎人們的家園時,志願牧師提供協助,幫助他們重建生活。志願牧師計畫成為世界上最大的國際獨立救援組織之一。山達基志願牧師救災團隊,現在與超過1,000個組織攜手合作,在本世紀的每個主要災難中伸出援手。

如同2016年這充滿成效的一年,教會的全球人道主義團隊的慈善工作與觸及力,肯定會在明年以及往後每一年持續成長。

Humanitarian

OTHER ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Shocking Truth issue cover
October 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. Military Spending issue cover
June-July 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 2
Freedom Magazine. Pill Pushers issue cover
April-May 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Back to School issue cover
September 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 8
Freedom Magazine. Veterans issue cover
August 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 7
Freedom Magazine. Infrastructure issue cover
July 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 6
Freedom Magazine. Net Freedom issue cover
June 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 5
Freedom Magazine. Patriot Games issue cover
May 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Freedom of Information Act issue cover
April 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. People Who Read Are a Dying Breed issue cover
March 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 2
Get Religion? issue cover
February 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Scientology Expansion issue cover
December 2014 Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Held Back issue cover
November 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Created Equal issue cover
October 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. LA Under the Influence issue cover
September 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 2
Military: Are They Drugged to Death issue cover
August 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 1

FLORIDA ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Year in Review issue cover
December 2016
Clearwater Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Clearwater Building cover
Special Clearwater Edition.
August 2015
Freedom Magazine. Building a Great City issue cover
Florida.
Vol. 20, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Flag issue cover
July 2014
Special Edition
PUBLISHED BY
Church of Scientology
since 1968
SHARE

Humanitarian: Doing Good Works

by &

When people need help, an array of social betterment programs are nearby and ready.

This was a turbulent year: Homicides spiked in America’s cities and people died by the tens of thousands from heroin and prescription opioids. Earthquakes, fires and floods destroyed the lives of countless families and conflict continued to decimate countries. Countering this onslaught of woe, the Church of Scientology, its members and myriad community partners eased the burdens of people who suffered, aided those in need and delivered hope to everyone touched with Church-sponsored, humanitarian programs.

Education drives nearly all of the world’s progress. So teachers, mentors, social workers, law enforcement officers, community activists and leaders in more than 100 nations set out in 2016 to teach and empower as many people as possible to lift society out of a dangerous slide.

100 million people

United for Human Rights, an international not-for-profit initiative headquartered in Los Angeles, educated 100 million people around the world about the 30 rights expressed in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights—the document adopted by a majority of nations in 1948 to help prevent a recurrence of the atrocities of World War II. United for Human Rights has partnered with 1,500 groups and organizations to distribute the Universal Declaration in 192 countries.

192 countries

By educating individuals on their innate human rights, including the film The Story of Human Rights, 30 public service announcements and comprehensive educator tools, United for Human Rights and its companion program, Youth for Human Rights, have managed to improve people’s mindset and to change national policies. In Mexico, the country’s constitution now includes the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, in part due to the campaign tirelessly carried out by participants in Youth for Human Rights.

180 such laws passed to date

In another global human rights endeavor, the Citizens Commission on Human Rights (CCHR), founded by the Church of Scientology in 1969, is the world’s foremost mental health watchdog. CCHR, now with more than 250 chapters in 34 nations, has diminished psychiatric abuses dramatically. Participants employ CCHR’s array of documentaries, media, publications and exhibits to educate officials and members of the public, and to see that crimes are prosecuted and legislation is passed to protect citizens—with more than 180 such laws passed to date.

Education is also the essence of the Church-sponsored The Truth About Drugs campaign. Spearheaded by the Foundation for a Drug-Free World, it’s the largest nongovernmental drug information and prevention initiative anywhere. The Truth About Drugs materials have reached 200 million people worldwide.

25% decrease in drug abuse

Through a documentary film, 17 public service announcements, school lesson plans and 14 Truth About Drugs booklets describing commonly abused drugs, the campaign instills young people with facts, so they can make their own decisions. As a senator in the Italian Parliament said, “I want to congratulate you on the major role you played in bringing about a 25 percent decrease in drug abuse in our country. … I know you won’t consider your work done until the youth of our country are able to decide for themselves that a life can be lived without drugs.”

However, for people who succumb to the dangers of drugs and either end up addicted or in prison, L. Ron Hubbard, Scientology Founder and humanitarian, found solutions. Narconon, the nonreligious program based on those solutions, treats addicts as human beings who have a problem, not as entities with chronic diseases. Addicts are carefully led through a non-medical withdrawal process, then guided through a detoxification program that uses nutrition, exercise and sauna to remove drug residues that drive cravings. Participants then take courses in life skills, gaining tools to deal with the pressures that led to drug use in the first place, and to help them remain healthy and drug-free.

Yet if people’s bad life choices land them in prison, there’s also Criminon, which addresses not only drug problems that led to incarceration, but restores to offenders the key to living a life free of criminality—their self-respect.

117 million books

To that end is The Way to Happiness—the secular, common sense guide to better living authored by Mr. Hubbard that lays out 21 precepts in easy-to-comprehend language. Its constructive principles and worthwhile values spread as a calming influence across the world: by the end of 2016, more than 117 million books are in circulation, in 114 languages. Coupled with a complete book-on-film, 21 public service messages and educator tools, just one documented result in the wake of education is a decline in violence and crime rates.

Of course, as Mr. Hubbard recognized, the key to avoiding drugs and crime—and to succeeding at nearly every aspect of life—is to become educated. Applied Scholastics, a non-denominational organization that consists of more than 1,000 groups in 72 countries, dramatically improves students’ chances to become educated, productive adults by utilizing Mr. Hubbard’s Study Technology, which teaches people how to learn so they can become proficient in any walk of life.

Beyond these answers is the program that embodies the Church’s religious social mission, the Scientology Volunteer Ministers (VMs). The motto of the VMs is, simply, “Something can be done about it.” The program comprises an array of tools to that end—from how to better communication, handle conflicts and overcome study problems, to how to improve organization and spiritually relieve illness and injury. Mr. Hubbard created the VM program as a vanguard in interfaith efforts to offer a hand to those in need, regardless of circumstances, location, race, creed or ethnicity.

1,000 organizations

When natural or man-made disasters demolish people’s best-laid plans, Volunteer Ministers provide assistance and help them to rebuild their lives. The program has grown into one of the largest independent international relief forces in the world. The Scientology Disaster Response Team now collaborates with more than 1,000 organizations and has served at every major disaster this century.

As productive as 2016 has been, the outreach and good works of the Church’s global humanitarian force will certainly continue to grow next year and every year thereafter.