PUBLIÉ PAR
l’église de Scientology internationale
depuis 1968
PARTAGER

Fidji : Reconstruire des vies

Fidji : Reconstruire des vies
Fidji : Reconstruire des vies
Fidji : Reconstruire des vies
Fidji : Reconstruire des vies

Quand le cyclone tropical Winston s’est déchaîné sur la nation insulaire de Fidji dans le Pacifique en février 2016, Alfred Waqa savait exactement comment surmonter la crise. Entre autres, il avait déjà des centaines de bénévoles formés prêts à intervenir.

M. Waqa, un membre formé et expérimenté de l’équipe d’intervention des ministres volontaires, a dirigé 250 Fidjiens qui se sont répartis dans 20 villages pour aider les victimes du cyclone, la tempête la plus puissante dans l’histoire de l’Hémisphère Sud. Chacun d’eux était un ministre volontaire (VM) formé pour s’occuper de façon experte des besoins les plus urgents des gens — qu’ils soient physiques, mentaux ou spirituels — pas uniquement pendant des catastrophes mais aussi dans le quotidien.

Les VM ont distribué du matériel aux sinistrés, déblayé des débris causés par la tempête, reconstruit des maisons et des écoles, et ont donné des « procédés d’assistance » — des méthodes élaborées par le fondateur de la Scientology L. Ron Hubbard pour apporter un soulagement spirituel aux traumatismes physiques et émotionnels. Portant le t-shirt jaune qui les caractérise, les ministres volontaires ont aidé 24 200 victimes et formé 2 340 personnes qui peuvent désormais donner des procédés d’assistance à d’autres.

Fidji : Reconstruire des vies
Fidji : Reconstruire des vies
Fidji : Reconstruire des vies
Fidji : Reconstruire des vies
Fidji : Reconstruire des vies
Fidji : Reconstruire des vies

M. Waqa, que ses amis appellent « Alfy », est devenu un membre important des VM en 2012 quand un groupe de ministres volontaires a aidé des victimes après les graves inondations à Fidji. En mars l’année suivante, quand un cyclone tropical a soufflé sur Vanuatu, l’île voisine, Alfy est intervenu avec d’autres ministres volontaires pour apporter des secours.

Mais ce n’est pas avant qu’il ait voyagé au Népal en avril 2015 pour aider les victimes du tremblement de terre de 7,8 sur l’échelle de Richter qu’il s’est rendu compte à quel point il était important d’avoir une organisation de VM bien huilée, disposée non seulement à faire face aux catastrophes mais aussi à aider les Fidjiens dans leur lutte avec la vie de tous les jours. À tous points de vue, travailler avec les VM au Népal, sous le parapluie de l’Association internationale des scientologues, a eu un effet transformateur plus profond sur la vie d’Alfy que toute autre activité qu’il avait faite avant.

L’une des premières choses qu’il a faites après son retour du Népal était de former trois groupes de ministres volontaires dans son village, Nalalawa, et autour, à environ trois heures de route de Suva, la capitale. Recruter des gens n’a posé aucun problème. De nombreux villageois de la région étaient déjà impressionnés par le travail de secours que lui et son équipe avaient fait en 2012. De plus, ils avaient aussi vu les rapports dans les médias sociaux sur l’impact très positif que les ministres volontaires ont eu au Népal.

Pour susciter plus d’intérêt pour les ministres volontaires, Alfy a animé une série de séminaires sur les nombreuses compétences et techniques que les VM acquièrent dans leur formation — aussi bien les procédés d’assistance que la façon de faire face aux environnements dangereux ou encore la manière d’améliorer ses relations personnelles. Son premier séminaire a attiré plus de 60 personnes, y compris les chefs de cinq villages voisins. Des policiers, des enseignants, des membres du clergé et des anciens de ces villages étaient également présents.

En outre, il a présenté les outils des VM à 45 clubs de jeunes, qui réunissent chacun 30 à 50 membres. À un forum organisé par le gouvernement, il a appris à plus de 100 ados comment faire des procédés d’assistance. Des plans pour fournir cette formation à d’autres clubs de jeunes sont en chantier.

En juin 2015, Alfy a enregistré le programme d’intervention des ministres volontaires au bureau de l’administrateur de Rakiraki, une ville à une centaine de kilomètres de Suva. Depuis, les demandes envoyées au gouvernement qui cherchent à recevoir de l’aide de la part des VM sont transmises directement à des ministres volontaires locaux.

OTHER ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Shocking Truth issue cover
October 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. Military Spending issue cover
June-July 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 2
Freedom Magazine. Pill Pushers issue cover
April-May 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Back to School issue cover
September 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 8
Freedom Magazine. Veterans issue cover
August 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 7
Freedom Magazine. Infrastructure issue cover
July 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 6
Freedom Magazine. Net Freedom issue cover
June 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 5
Freedom Magazine. Patriot Games issue cover
May 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Freedom of Information Act issue cover
April 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. People Who Read Are a Dying Breed issue cover
March 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 2
Get Religion? issue cover
February 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Scientology Expansion issue cover
December 2014 Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Held Back issue cover
November 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Created Equal issue cover
October 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. LA Under the Influence issue cover
September 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 2
Military: Are They Drugged to Death issue cover
August 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 1

FLORIDA ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Year in Review issue cover
December 2016
Clearwater Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Clearwater Building cover
Special Clearwater Edition.
August 2015
Freedom Magazine. Building a Great City issue cover
Florida.
Vol. 20, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Flag issue cover
July 2014
Special Edition
PUBLISHED BY
Church of Scientology
since 1968
SHARE

Fiji: Rebuilding Lives

Fiji: Rebuilding Lives
Fiji: Rebuilding Lives
Fiji: Rebuilding Lives
Fiji: Rebuilding Lives

When Tropical Cyclone Winston lashed the Pacific island nation of Fiji in February 2016, Alfred Waqa knew exactly how to respond to the crisis. Among other things, he had hundreds of trained volunteers ready to spring into action.

Waqa, a trained and experienced member of the Scientology Volunteer Minister Disaster Response program, led some 250 Fijians who fanned out in 20 villages to help victims of the cyclone, the most powerful storm on record in the Southern Hemisphere. Each one of them was a Volunteer Minister (VM) trained to expertly address people’s most critical needs—whether physical, mental or spiritual—not just during disasters but in everyday life.

The VMs distributed donated materials to the afflicted, cleared storm debris, rebuilt houses and schools, and delivered “assist technology”—techniques developed by Scientology Founder L. Ron Hubbard to provide spiritual relief from physical and emotional trauma. Dressed in distinctive bright yellow T-shirts, the Volunteer Ministers helped some 24,200 victims and trained as many as 2,340 people to deliver assists to others.

Fiji: Rebuilding Lives
Fiji: Rebuilding Lives
Fiji: Rebuilding Lives
Fiji: Rebuilding Lives
Fiji: Rebuilding Lives
Fiji: Rebuilding Lives

Waqa, popularly known by his nickname “Alfy,” became a leading VM in 2012 when a group of Volunteer Ministers helped victims in the aftermath of severe floods in Fiji. In March the following year, when a tropical cyclone ripped through the neighboring island nation of Vanuatu, Alfy was on hand along with other Volunteer Ministers to provide disaster relief.

But it wasn’t until Alfy traveled to Nepal in April 2015 to assist victims of a devastating magnitude-7.8 earthquake that he realized how important it is to have a well-oiled VM organization prepared not only to respond to disasters but to help Fijians deal with life’s daily struggles. By all accounts, working with VMs in Nepal, who were supported by the International Association of Scientologists, changed Alfy’s life like nothing else had before.

One of the first things that Alfy did after returning from Nepal was to form three groups of Volunteer Ministers in and around his village, Nalalawa, located some three hours by road from the capital city of Suva. Recruiting people wasn’t a problem. Many villagers in the area were already impressed with the disaster relief work Alfy and his VM team had done in 2012. What’s more, they were also aware of social media reports of the tremendous impact that VMs had made in Nepal.

To evoke further public interest in Volunteer Ministers, Alfy delivered a string of public seminars on the numerous skills and techniques that VMs acquire in their training—everything from assists to dealing with dangerous environments to improving interpersonal relationships. His first seminar attracted more than 60 attendees, including five chiefs of neighboring villages. Police personnel, schoolteachers, clergy and village elders were also in attendance.

In addition, Alfy has taken the VM tools to some 45 youth clubs, each with 30 to 50 members. At a government-organized forum, he trained some 100 youths on assist technology. Plans for expanding such training to other youth clubs are underway.

In June 2015, Alfy registered the Scientology Volunteer Minister Disaster Response program with the office of the public administrator in Rakiraki, a town about 100 miles from Suva. Since then, requests to the government for VM help are forwarded directly to local Volunteer Ministers.