Inauguration de l’église de Scientology de Budapest
PUBLIÉ PAR
l’église de Scientology internationale
depuis 1968
PARTAGER

23 juillet 2016 Budapest

Par

Tout a commencé par un seul exemplaire d’un livre qui avait réussi à percer le rideau de fer en 1988. En 2016, avec l’ouverture d’une église de Scientology magnifique, ce mouvement en plein essor en Hongrie a atteint une étape importante pour la liberté spirituelle.

Budapest, Hongrie — La nouvelle église de Scientology de Hongrie a ouvert ses portes lors d’un samedi de fin juillet soudain ensoleillé devant la foule enthousiaste qui avait envahi la cour de la route Váci sous les parapluies — pour alors les fermer au moment d’une éclaircie quelques minutes avant que d’éminents orateurs hongrois montent sur scène.

Une réunion de ceux qui participent à une croisade humanitaire
En action Une réunion de ceux qui participent à une croisade humanitaire.
Une réunion de ceux qui participent à une croisade humanitaire

Des rubans dorés au-dessus des têtes, des places rapidement remplies et des centaines de membres et d’invités s’entassant dans un espace déjà trop plein... c’était un moment symbolique pour beaucoup de ces scientologues bien déterminés — car cette inauguration n’était pas seulement l’incarnation visible de leur quête spirituelle, c’était la réalisation d’un rêve refoulé pendant des dizaines d’années sous le régime communiste.

Les intervenants ont raconté des histoires dont le lexique reflétait les fameux combats que la Hongrie a menés pour la liberté : la percée dans le rideau de fer il y a trente ans dans la quête pour la liberté de religion, une détermination à résister aux idéologies athéistes du bloc communiste, et les régimes socialistes qui continuent d’apprendre ce que la liberté signifie véritablement.

Pour la plupart de ceux qui remplissaient la cour extérieure, la cérémonie était un chapitre important dans leur propre histoire, une histoire jonchée de défis sociaux et politiques qu’ils ont eus à surmonter le long de leurs 30 années de parcours pour remplacer l’oppression spirituelle par la tolérance et la liberté de religion.

Des acteurs sociaux, des enseignants, des responsables nationaux et des artistes — y compris l’un des plus grands écrivains de Hongrie, István Nemere — ont rejoint sur scène le chef ecclésiastique de la Scientology, David Miscavige, pour parler de courage et de dévouement devant ceux qui ont introduit le message de la religion en Hongrie, qui ont aidé à développer ses 33 centres, appelés des missions, et qui ont attiré des disciples par milliers.

Les scientologues suivent des cours
En action Des scientologues en train d’étudier des cours.
Les scientologues suivent des cours

Entre trouver le soutien financier qui a transformé cette nouvelle église en une réalité et développer des contacts avec le gouvernement et des groupes sociaux, l’histoire de la naissance de cette église consacrée à Budapest et à l’Europe de l’Est présente des points qui rappellent l’esprit révolutionnaire des Hongrois et leur résistance constante à la répression des droits de l’homme pour trouver leur liberté.

M. Miscavige a dit à la foule que ceux qui ont suivi les traces du long héritage de défenseurs de la liberté de la Hongrie ont relevé les défis que posait la création de leur église parce qu’ils « se refusaient d’attendre » qu’un chemin plus facile pour la réalisation de leurs rêves ne se présente.

« On dit que le monde entier considère votre ville comme une capitale de la liberté, et que votre lutte pour la liberté se traduit dans toutes les langues connues sur Terre », a-t-il dit aux 3 000 personnes réunies, par l’intermédiaire d’un interprète hongrois. On dit aussi que chaque fois que les gens aspirent à la liberté, ils deviennent “citoyens de la Hongrie”. Et finalement, on dit que votre langue vous permet de décrire le désir le plus profond du cœur humain, le désir pour l’indépendance spirituelle. »

La signification de ce moment était claire pour Attila Miklovicz, scientologue depuis des dizaines d’années et maintenant membre du staff à plein temps à la nouvelle église. Les idéaux de la Scientology l’ont inspiré à devenir une force motrice du groupe qui a abattu les barrières politiques et fiscales pour ouvrir cette nouvelle église sur le continent européen. Il était rayonnant, son dévouement ayant été vigoureusement applaudi par le public quand il est monté sur scène.

Plus tard, il se rappela qu’avant les années 88-89, années où les bouleversements politiques ont conduit le pays à rompre avec le parti communiste, le contrôle totalitaire en Hongrie avait rendu illégaux les idées et les écrits de L. Ron Hubbard sur la Dianetics. Les ouvrages devaient être introduits en contrebande. Mais, explique-t-il, de nouvelles libertés qui sont apparues après la décomposition du bloc communiste ont donné à des gens comme lui, et à beaucoup d’autres, la chance de découvrir la Scientology et par là-même un moyen de créer une nouvelle culture qui soit différente et dans laquelle les droits de l’homme et les libertés soient non seulement reconnus, mais surtout respectés et encouragés.

« Aujourd’hui, dit Miklovicz en faisant un geste vers la toute nouvelle église de 6 000 mètres carrés sur l’un des boulevards de Budapest les plus fréquentés, c’est le couronnement de tout cela. »

L’église de Scientology de Budapest
CONCRÉTISER LA LIBERTÉ Quand la Scientology a commencé en Hongrie, le pays était sous régime communiste, et les livres de L. Ron Hubbard devaient y être introduits en contrebande. Cette nouvelle église est un témoignage de liberté.

Church of Scientology Budapest Grand Opening

OTHER ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Shocking Truth issue cover
October 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. Military Spending issue cover
June-July 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 2
Freedom Magazine. Pill Pushers issue cover
April-May 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Back to School issue cover
September 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 8
Freedom Magazine. Veterans issue cover
August 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 7
Freedom Magazine. Infrastructure issue cover
July 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 6
Freedom Magazine. Net Freedom issue cover
June 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 5
Freedom Magazine. Patriot Games issue cover
May 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Freedom of Information Act issue cover
April 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. People Who Read Are a Dying Breed issue cover
March 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 2
Get Religion? issue cover
February 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Scientology Expansion issue cover
December 2014 Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Held Back issue cover
November 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Created Equal issue cover
October 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. LA Under the Influence issue cover
September 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 2
Military: Are They Drugged to Death issue cover
August 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 1

FLORIDA ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Year in Review issue cover
December 2016
Clearwater Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Clearwater Building cover
Special Clearwater Edition.
August 2015
Freedom Magazine. Building a Great City issue cover
Florida.
Vol. 20, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Flag issue cover
July 2014
Special Edition
PUBLISHED BY
Church of Scientology
since 1968
SHARE

July 23, 2016 Budapest

by

From a single copy of a book that pierced the Iron Curtain in 1988, to the opening of a grand new Scientology Church in 2016, a burgeoning movement in Hungary marks a milestone for spiritual freedom.

Budapest, Hungary—Hungary’s new Church of Scientology opened on a suddenly beautiful Saturday in late July to a crowd of well-wishers who thronged the courtyard on Budapest’s Váci Road under umbrellas—only to fold them closed as sun broke through just minutes before a contingent of prominent Hungarian speakers mounted the stage.

Participants in a humanitarian crusade gather
In Action Participants in a humanitarian crusade gather.
Participants in a humanitarian crusade gather

Beneath gold ribbons overhead, with seats quickly filled and hundreds more members and guests pressing themselves into the already packed venue, it was a symbolic moment for many of these determined Scientologists—one in which this inauguration was not only the visible incarnation of their spiritual quest, but the realization of a dream that was suppressed for decades under Communist rule.

As speakers were introduced, the stories that spilled forth took their own place in the lexicon of Hungary’s many famous fights for freedom—the piercing of the Iron Curtain some three decades ago in a quest for religious freedom, a determination to resist atheistic ideologies of the Communist bloc—and of socialist regimes that continue to learn the meaning of freedom.

For most who filled the grassy courtyard, the ceremonies were a dramatic chapter in their own story of overcoming social and political challenges in their unrelenting, 30-year journey to replace spiritual suppression with tolerance and religious freedom.

Social activists, educators, government leaders, and artists—including one of Hungary’s most prominent novelists, István Nemere—joined on stage Scientology ecclesiastical leader David Miscavige to talk about courage and dedication among those who first brought the religion’s message into Hungary, helped develop its 33 Church centers, known as missions, and attracted followers by the thousands.

Scientologists attend classes
In Action Scientologists attend classes.
Scientologists attend classes

From finding financial support that turned the new Church into reality, to developing liaisons with government and social groups, the story of the birth of this church-home for Budapest and Eastern Europe is one with strong parallels to the revolutionary spirit of Hungarians and their resistance to the repression of human rights, time and again, to find their freedom.

Mr. Miscavige told the enthusiastic crowd that those who followed in the footsteps of Hungary’s long legacy of freedom fighters had embraced the challenges of creating their Church because they “would not wait” for an easier path to their dreams.

“It is said the whole world knows your city as a capital of freedom, and that your fight to be free translates to every known language on Earth,” Mr. Miscavige told the 3,000 gathered there, speaking through a Hungarian interpreter. “It is also said that whenever people yearn for liberty, they become ‘citizens of Hungary.’ And finally, it is said that yours is a language equipped to describe the innermost longing in every human heart—which is a longing for spiritual independence.”

The meaning of that moment was clear to Attila Miklovicz, now a full-time staff member of the new Church, whose own decades-old exposure to Scientology ideals inspired him to become a driving force in breaking down political and fiscal barriers to make this newest Church on the European continent come true. His commitment, praised from the podium to rounds of applause, left him beaming.

He would recall later that in the years before the political upheavals that led the country out of Communism in 1988-89, totalitarian controls made the ideas and words of L. Ron Hubbard’s Dianetics contraband in Hungary. Copies of the work had to be smuggled in. But new freedoms that followed the breakup of the Communist bloc, Attila said, gave people like him, and many others, the chance to discover Scientology as a way to a create a new and different culture, one in which human rights and liberties are not only recognized, but respected and encouraged.

“Today,” Miklovicz said, making a sweeping gesture toward the sparkling-new 64,000-square-foot Church on one of Budapest’s busiest roads, “is the coronation of all that.”

Church of Scientology Budapest
MAKING FREEDOM REAL Scientology began in Hungary during the Communist regime, when L. Ron Hubbard books were smuggled in. The new Church is a testament to freedom.