羅馬山達基教會盛大開幕
國際山達基教會出版

始於1968年
分享

2016年9月4日 雪梨

全新的澳洲與亞太區山達基總部,是教會在美國境外最大的靈性中心。

靈性自由的燈塔
閃亮的燈塔全新的教會共134,000平方呎,一旁是蘭谷國家公園,屹立不搖,有如一座靈性自由的燈塔。

雪梨──巨碩的新山達基教會高階機構於九月初正式開幕,受到眾多社區領袖、官員的支持,要為大家提供高階的靈性諮詢與訓練。

這次開幕也帶來了全新的洲區聯絡辦公室,他們負責在紐澳亞區與亞洲太平洋區成立推廣人道主義計畫的新中心。

此外,它對教會的發展還有另一層重大意義,這反映在演講者的致詞中,他們公開歡迎這座全新設施來到雪梨。其中包括澳洲最知名的人權提倡者,葛瑞絲琳.斯莫伍德博士,以及前澳洲檢察官,大衛.班內特博士──他曾代表教會贏得劃時代的勝利,於1983年奠定了教會的宗教地位、改寫澳洲法律、重新聲明宗教定義,並為全球設下先例。在3,000名觀眾前致詞的還有其他貴賓。包括基思.湯普森博士,他是雪梨聖母大學法學院副教授,如今已成為跨宗教合作領袖,在澳洲捍衛人權;艾明.哈迪博士,前澳洲總理宗教顧問。

他們不只談到開幕,還提起教會的各項工作,以及在南半球的這片寶地上,宗教自由所代表的真義。

這次開幕,也象徵教會在澳洲走完了一個週期。一切始於數十年前,在宗教偏見的種種考驗下,面對著一小批勢力強大的反宗教份子持續的壓迫,他們試圖在澳洲禁止這門宗教,山達基的生存受到了考驗。但是他們無法消滅這門宗教。教會在澳洲最高法庭獲得最終勝利,為宗教下定義,受到世界各國的尊崇,因為有這段歷史才有今日的新建築,永遠紀念我們贏得的自由。

賀伯特諮詢中心
踏上軌道山達基人在賀伯特諮詢中心邁向更高的靈性狀態(上圖),並踏上學習之路(右下圖)。
山達基人踏上學習之路

教會這間高階靈性和管理中心,加上近年來在澳洲與東南亞開幕的數間新山達基教會,包括雪梨、墨爾本、東京、高雄,構成了一個完美的團隊。這些教會見證了山達基在地球上一些人口密集區的快速成長。

這間新設施原本是政府的聲音測試實驗室,鄰近蘭谷國家公園,豐富的光線與古老樹林層疊交纏,捕蟬蜂忽高忽低的鳴叫如晚禱的序曲,四周環繞著金合歡、尤加利樹與山龍眼。

在翠綠林間,佇立著全新的高階機構,為該區的山達基人提供研習場地,並參與教會各項計畫以及社會改善活動。裡頭設有禮堂,可供成員或社區團體使用,推展人道主義工作。

從新蘭谷咖啡廳的陽台往外看,越過玻璃牆,笑翠鳥棲息在藍桉溪畔,偶爾傳來調皮的鳴聲,為這座位於雪梨市郊、佔地900英畝的野生公園,增添情趣。

教堂
氣派莊嚴的環境新澳洲教會的禮堂可舉辦教會典禮與各種社區活動。

9月4日山達基宗教領袖大衛.密斯凱維吉先生拉下彩帶,金綠相間的彩紙飛揚,台下觀眾聽到教會友人誠摯的誓言,支持教會的成長──肯定這份追求自由的堅定信念、決心與奉獻精神,經過多年努力,即使機率渺茫仍不放棄,終於讓這間教會成真。

「因此,我們來看看今日所代表的恆久優勢。」密斯凱維吉先生如是說。「這來自於我們有一個願景,要讓人類湧入我們的大門,達到靈性自由。」

走廊

山達基人一心保護並維持自己的宗教信仰,而且投入教會的人權與人道主義活動,藉此提升精神層面。這使得國際知名的人權倡導者葛瑞絲琳.斯莫伍德願意受邀至開幕典禮致詞。

這位知名人權倡導者為原住民團體「首批澳洲人」發聲,在她蒞臨開幕會場之前,一大早就上了全國ABC廣播網,談到澳洲近期的種族暴力事件,並以教會提倡的寬容與自由作為範例,呼籲全國人民讓種族鬥爭畫下句點。

「事實上再過幾個小時,我就要在雪梨的一棟山達基建築物參加開幕大典,在3,000人面前致詞。」她這樣告訴約1,800萬名廣播聽眾。「我不是山達基人,但如果山達基人給一名澳洲黑人倡導者這樣的發言機會,訴說這個國家的真相……很好,不管怎樣我絕對去。」她這麼說,非常樂意支持教會。

在之前的面談中,斯莫伍德教授說,她覺得自己身為該國第一批澳洲人,有義務要歡迎這間新教會與洲區總部來到澳洲。她說,根據她多年服務澳洲學術界與醫療界的經驗,她清楚意識到教會在人道主義及社會司法層面的努力有多麼重要,甚至要突破萬難才能取得認可,她更讚揚教會人道目標的拓展活動。

當她於開幕典禮登上舞台時,便直接表達出這項觀點。

「這塊土地的傳統守護者,秉持著尊重與靈性的強大傳統。」她如是說。「我瞭解到,你們非常敬重我們的傳統,因為你們的宗旨是要創造一個沒有瘋狂、沒有罪犯、沒有戰爭的世界,在那裡有能力的人得以成功,誠實的人能擁有權利。今日我們誠摯地歡迎你們,也歡迎你們對人類靈性尊重與瞭解的傳統。各位來自許多國度、來自廣大的太平洋區,也有澳洲本地人,歡迎大家。」

雪梨教會風景
雪梨教會風景
雪梨教會風景
美不勝收新教會(右上圖)與青翠的澳洲景色完美契合。

Church of Scientology of Sydney Grand Opening

OTHER ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Shocking Truth issue cover
October 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. Military Spending issue cover
June-July 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 2
Freedom Magazine. Pill Pushers issue cover
April-May 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Back to School issue cover
September 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 8
Freedom Magazine. Veterans issue cover
August 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 7
Freedom Magazine. Infrastructure issue cover
July 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 6
Freedom Magazine. Net Freedom issue cover
June 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 5
Freedom Magazine. Patriot Games issue cover
May 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Freedom of Information Act issue cover
April 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. People Who Read Are a Dying Breed issue cover
March 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 2
Get Religion? issue cover
February 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Scientology Expansion issue cover
December 2014 Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Held Back issue cover
November 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Created Equal issue cover
October 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. LA Under the Influence issue cover
September 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 2
Military: Are They Drugged to Death issue cover
August 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 1

FLORIDA ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Year in Review issue cover
December 2016
Clearwater Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Clearwater Building cover
Special Clearwater Edition.
August 2015
Freedom Magazine. Building a Great City issue cover
Florida.
Vol. 20, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Flag issue cover
July 2014
Special Edition
PUBLISHED BY
Church of Scientology
since 1968
SHARE

September 4, 2016 Sydney

by

The all-new Scientology headquarters for Australia and the Asia Pacific region is the Church’s largest spiritual center outside of the United States.

Beacon of spiritual freedom
Beacon The new 134,000-square-foot Church bordering Lane Cove National Park stands as a beacon of spiritual freedom.

Sydney—The inauguration of the massive new Church of Scientology Advanced Organization here in early September was launched amid an outpouring of support from community leaders and prominent public officials as it opened its doors for advanced levels of spiritual counseling and training.

With the opening has also come the launch of the new Continental Liaison Office, which established a new center for humanitarian programs and outreach throughout Australasia and the Asia Pacific region.

Beyond that, it has signified something new and important in the Church’s development, an acceptance reflected in the speakers who came to very publicly welcome the new facility to Sydney. They included one of Australia’s best-known human rights activists, Dr. Gracelyn Smallwood, and the former Solicitor General for Australia, Dr. David Bennett—who represented the Church in a landmark and groundbreaking case on religious identity, decided in 1983, that rewrote Australian law on what constitutes a religion and set precedent around the world on those issues. Joining them for remarks before a crowd of some 3,000 guests were other dignitaries. Among them was Keith Thompson, the associate dean of Notre Dame Law School in Sydney, who has become a leader in interfaith cooperation and service for human rights in Australia and the region, and Dr. Amin Hady, former advisor for religious affairs to Australia’s prime minister.

All had come to say a word not only about the opening, but about the work of the Church and what freedom of religion has come to mean for freedom itself in this land down under.

The opening marked as well the circle of the Church’s journey in Australia, begun decades ago amid struggles against religious bigotry which tested its survival in the face of prejudice and opposition by a small but powerful clique of anti-religious forces—forces who worked to ban the religion within the country. But they could not extinguish it. The Church’s final victory before Australia’s highest court, establishing a definition of religion honored by nations around the world, was the foundation of this new structure that has now become a monument to freedom won.

Hubbard Guidance center
On Track Scientologists advance their spiritual path at the Hubbard Guidance Center (above), and on their way to study (below right).
Scientologists on their way to study

As the advanced spiritual and management center for the religion in the region, it has emerged as a perfect complement to other new Scientology Churches opened in Australia and East Asia in recent years—from Sydney and Melbourne, to Tokyo, Japan, and Kaohsiung, Taiwan. They have each become testament to the rapid growth of the Scientology religion in some of the most populated areas on Earth.

The new facility, which was remodeled from what was once a government sound-testing laboratory, sits adjacent to Lane Cove National Park, where tapestries of light and movement are woven into this ancient setting—a place where the sound of cicadas rise and fall in symphonies of evensong among the golden wattle, eucalyptus and banksias trees that form the backdrop here.

Within this sylvan setting the new Advanced Organization offers, in its regional focus, spaces for Scientologists to study and participate in the Church’s programs and in its social betterment activities. Its facilities include auditoriums for use by members and by community groups involved in such humanitarian work.

Off the balcony of the new Lane Cove Café, just outside the glass walls of the pristine facility, kookaburras flock along Blue Gum Creek and add their mischievous laugh-like trills to the wildlife ambiance that thrives in this 900-acre park near Sydney’s center.

Chapel
Solemn Surroundings The auditorium at the new Australian Church accommodates both Church and community activities.

On September 4th, as Scientology ecclesiastical leader, Mr. David Miscavige, released the symbolic ribbon and the bright gold and green confetti rained onto celebrants below, participants in the event heard pledges from friends of the Church to support its growth—an affirmation of what it took in belief, determination and commitment to freedom, over the years and against the odds, to make this new Church home a reality.

“So now we come to the never-ending vantage point on this day,” Mr. Miscavige said. “It’s the one that follows from a vision of humanity gravitating toward our doors, to the realm of spiritual freedom.”

Hallway

The resolve of Scientologists to protect and preserve their religious beliefs and find their spiritual expression in the Church’s human rights and humanitarian missions, were part of what led internationally known rights activist Gracelyn Smallwood to accept an invitation to speak at the dedication ceremony.

On the morning before her appearance at the grand opening, the noted activist for her native people, the First Australians, appeared on the national ABC radio network, commenting on issues of recent racial violence in the country, and noted parallels between attitudes of tolerance and freedom championed by the Church, and calls within the country to end racial strife.

“I’m actually speaking in front of 3,000 people today in a couple of hours’ time in Sydney at the opening of a Scientology building,” she told the network’s radio audience of some 18 million. “I’m not a Scientologist, but if Scientologists are giving black Australian activists [an opportunity to speak] on the truth of this country … then, yes, by whatever means necessary,” she said, she was glad to support the Church.

In an interview earlier, Professor Smallwood said she felt her real role, as one of the nation’s First Australians, was to welcome the new Church and continental headquarters to Australia. She said that from her years of serving in the academic and medical communities of Australia and the region, she was fully aware of the importance of the humanitarian and social justice work the Church has done, even in the face of its struggles for recognition, and she lauded the expanding outreach of its humanitarian goals.

As she took the stage at the grand opening, she spoke pointedly to that perspective.

“The traditional custodians of this land have a strong tradition of respect and spirituality,” she said. “I have learned how you honor our tradition with your aims of a world without insanity, without criminals and without war, where the able can prosper and honest beings can have rights. Here today we welcome you and your own tradition of respect and understanding of Man as a spiritual being. And we welcome you from many lands, from across the vast Pacific and our own Australia.”

Sydney Church landscape
Sydney Church landscape
Sydney Church landscape
Beauty The new Church (top right) is a perfect complement to the lush Australian landscape.