5 500 bénévoles ont distribué 1 million d’exemplaires du livret La vérité sur la drogue
PUBLIÉ PAR
l’église de Scientology internationale
depuis 1968
PARTAGER

LES J.O. : 5 500 bénévoles contre la drogue

5 500 bénévoles ont distribué 1 million d’exemplaires du livret La vérité sur la drogue aux Jeux olympiques de 2016 à Rio de Janeiro.
Faire passer le message 5 500 bénévoles ont distribué 1 million d’exemplaires du livret La vérité sur la drogue aux Jeux olympiques de 2016 à Rio de Janeiro.

Parmi les millions de Brésiliens et de touristes du monde entier venus aux Jeux olympiques d’été à Rio de Janeiro en 2016, il y a de fortes chances qu’une personne sur cinq ait aperçu un bénévole portant un t-shirt et une casquette bleu vert La vérité sur la drogue. Avant et pendant les événements sportifs, plus de 5 500 bénévoles ont distribué 1 million de livrets d’information alors que des spots d’information sur les dangers de la toxicomanie passaient devant les amateurs de sports.

La campagne La vérité sur la drogue — produite par la Fondation pour un monde sans drogue qui est parrainée par l’église de Scientology — a fait une performance olympienne en distribuant des informations factuelles sur les drogues aux gens d’une nation qui consomment 18 pour cent de la cocaïne dans le monde. Le cannabis et les drogues de synthèse y sont aussi largement consommés. En fait, le problème de la drogue au Brésil est si grave qu’au cours des trois dernières années, ce pays a demandé à recevoir plus de documentation La vérité sur la drogue que n’importe quel autre en dehors des États-Unis.

Une subvention de l’Association internationale des scientologues a permis de produire les livrets, ainsi que des polos, des chapeaux, des sacs et des banderoles, autant d’articles qui transmettent le message d’une vie sans drogue. La subvention a aussi financé 500 tableaux, qui ont été placés dans différents endroits à Rio et signés par des milliers de personnes qui se sont engagées à ne pas consommer de drogue.

Les activités antidrogue pendant les J.O.
« Les livrets partaient vite » Les militants antidrogue étaient omniprésents pendant les Jeux olympiques — aussi bien dans les installations sportives que sur les plages ou dans les quartiers animés.

Pour aider à faire passer son message, Un monde sans drogue a fait équipe avec Pure Performance Athletes. Vingt-quatre athlètes, y compris cinq anciens médaillés olympiques, ont créé leurs propres spots d’information, ont aidé les bénévoles à distribuer les livrets et ont dédicacé des exemplaires pour les jeunes à deux des sites olympiques.

Distribution de livrets antidrogue à Rio de Janeiro

Les choses se sont accélérées quand « plusieurs églises à Rio et à Sao Paulo ont donné leur approbation enthousiaste à toutes les demandes de soutien qu’on leur avait faites », raconte Mario Chirinos, directeur de la Fondation pour un monde sans drogue du Venezuela. « Elles ont proposé des routes et des moyens logistiques pour les activités de leurs bénévoles dans tous les endroits où les visiteurs s’étaient concentrés et où les touristes brésiliens étaient venus nombreux. »

Ambra Calzolari, la directrice de la Fondation pour un monde sans drogue international, a dit que l’équipe a appris que le pire endroit pour la drogue à Rio était Copacabana, donc ils ont apporté des livrets sur la drogue à des centaines de magasins tout le long de la plage bondée. « Les livrets partaient vite, dit-elle. Des mamans revenaient pour en prendre plus pour leurs enfants et leurs copains. »

Des pasteurs, des prêtres et des directeurs d’agences gouvernementales ont aidé à mobiliser des gens, et au bout du compte, plus de 5 500 bénévoles ont mis la main à la pâte. Le résultat final, explique Mario Chirinos, c’est que « un million de livrets ont été distribués aux touristes, visiteurs, églises, athlètes, policiers, pompiers, bénévoles, enseignants, enfants et jeunes ».

Distribution de livrets à Rio
Distribution de livrets à Rio
Distribution de livrets à Rio

M. Calzolari a observé que les Brésiliens étaient très « positifs, réceptifs, prêts à aider, curieux à propos de nouvelles choses. La plupart savent que la drogue détruit des vies, et beaucoup cherchent une solution. Quand ils ont découvert le livret La vérité sur la drogue, ils en voulaient pour leur famille, leurs amis, leur église ».

Au bout du compte, des milliers de personnes de 55 pays se sont engagées à mener une vie sans drogue en mettant leur signature sur un tableau d’engagement, ce qui incluait 45 athlètes olympiques. Les émissions à la télévision et à la radio sur La vérité sur la drogue, ainsi que les livrets, ont eu une influence positive sur la vie de 6,3 millions d’habitants et de visiteurs. M. Chirinos a dit : « On sauve des vies et on sait que des millions de personnes lisent maintenant La vérité sur la drogue ».

5,500 volunteers distributed 1 million copies of The Truth About Drugs materials

OTHER ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Shocking Truth issue cover
October 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. Military Spending issue cover
June-July 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 2
Freedom Magazine. Pill Pushers issue cover
April-May 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Back to School issue cover
September 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 8
Freedom Magazine. Veterans issue cover
August 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 7
Freedom Magazine. Infrastructure issue cover
July 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 6
Freedom Magazine. Net Freedom issue cover
June 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 5
Freedom Magazine. Patriot Games issue cover
May 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Freedom of Information Act issue cover
April 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. People Who Read Are a Dying Breed issue cover
March 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 2
Get Religion? issue cover
February 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Scientology Expansion issue cover
December 2014 Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Held Back issue cover
November 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Created Equal issue cover
October 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. LA Under the Influence issue cover
September 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 2
Military: Are They Drugged to Death issue cover
August 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 1

FLORIDA ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Year in Review issue cover
December 2016
Clearwater Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Clearwater Building cover
Special Clearwater Edition.
August 2015
Freedom Magazine. Building a Great City issue cover
Florida.
Vol. 20, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Flag issue cover
July 2014
Special Edition
PUBLISHED BY
Church of Scientology
since 1968
SHARE

Olympics: 5,500 Volunteers Against Drugs

5,500 volunteers distributed 1 million copies of The Truth About Drugs materials at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro
Spread the Word 5,500 volunteers distributed 1 million copies of The Truth About Drugs materials at the 2016 Summer Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

For the millions of Brazilians and international tourists who attended the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro, chances are that as many as one in five came across a volunteer in an aqua blue T-shirt and cap, emblazoned with “The Truth About Drugs.” Before and during the sporting performances, more than 5,500 volunteers handed out 1 million educational booklets and showed public service announcements on dangers of drug abuse to Olympic spectators.

The Truth About Drugs campaign—produced by the Church of Scientology-sponsored Foundation for a Drug-Free World—delivered gold-medal results by conveying the factual evils of illicit drugs to the people of a nation who consume 18 percent of the world’s cocaine. Marijuana and synthetic drugs are also widely abused. In fact, the drug problem in Brazil is so severe that the nation’s residents have requested more Truth About Drugs materials over the last three years than any other country but the United States.

A grant from the International Association of Scientologists funded the booklets, as well as polo shirts, hats, tote bags and banners, all of them promoting drug-free lives. The grant also funded 500 pledge boards, which were displayed around Rio and signed by thousands who vowed not to abuse drugs.

Anti-drug activities during the Olymics
‘Booklets went fast’ The anti-drug activists were everywhere during the Olympic Games—from sports facilities to beaches to neighborhoods.

To help get its message out, Drug-Free World established a partnership with Pure Performance Athletes. Twenty-four athletes, including five past Olympian medal winners, created their own public service announcements, helped volunteers distribute booklets and autographed copies for youth at two Olympic venues.

Anti-drug booklets distribution in Rio de Janeiro

Momentum increased “when several churches in Rio and São Paulo who gave a resounding ‘yes’ to every request of our team for support,” said Mario Chirinos, executive director of the Venezuela Foundation for a Drug-Free World. “The churches proposed routes and logistics for delivery by its volunteers in each location where visitors were concentrated and where Brazilian tourists had come en masse.”

Ambra Calzolari, Executive Director of the Foundation for a Drug-Free World International, said the team learned that the worst spot for drugs in Rio is Copacabana, so they distributed drug education booklet displays to hundreds of shops all along the crowded beach. “The booklets went fast,” she said. “Mothers were also coming back to get more booklets for their kids’ friends.”

Pastors, priests and leaders of government agencies helped to mobilize forces, securing the assistance of more than 5,500 volunteers. The final result, said Chirinos, was “the distribution of a million booklets to tourists, visitors, churches, athletes, law enforcement, firefighters, volunteers, teachers, children and youth.”

Rio booklet distribution
Rio booklet distribution
Rio booklet distribution

Calzolari shared her observations that Brazilians are very “positive, receptive, willing to help, curious about new things,” she said. “Most know drugs are destroying lives, and many are looking for a solution. When they found The Truth About Drugs, they wanted it for their family, friends, churches.”

Ultimately, thousands of individuals from 55 countries signed the drug-free pledge, including 45 Olympic athletes. Television and radio broadcasts on The Truth About Drugs, along with the booklets, had a positive influence in the lives of an estimated 6.3 million people. Chirinos said, “We are saving lives and know that millions of people are now reading The Truth About Drugs.”