PUBLIÉ PAR
l’église de Scientology internationale
depuis 1968
PARTAGER
Colombie : rebelles, militaires et droits de l’homme

Colombie : rebelles, militaires et droits de l’homme

Pendant des années, en Colombie, les efforts pour enrayer la production de stupéfiants se concentraient sur Putumayo, une belle province du sud-ouest avec un passé compliqué d’assujettissement, d’insurrection, de violence et d’exil. « Un jour, c’est l’armée qui passe ; le lendemain, c’est les guérilleros ; et le jour d’après, c’est les paramilitaires », se lamente le directeur d’une association locale en faisant allusion à la guerre d’un demi-siècle entre les forces militaires de la Colombie, les milices de droite et les Forces Armées Révolutionnaires de Colombie (FARC), un groupe marxiste-léniniste qui est arrivé à un accord de paix avec le gouvernement en septembre. Même si les Colombiens ont rejeté de peu l’accord historique au référendum quelques jours plus tard, les deux côtés se sont engagés à respecter la paix et à travailler vers la résolution finale de la situation.

Les Colombiens ont pu soupçonner qu’une transition s’opérait — de la guerre chronique à une harmonie relative — en novembre 2015, quand une équipe de la fondation colombienne Des jeunes pour les droits de l’homme dirigée par Sandra Poveda, une dentiste colombienne, et Felipe Poveda, son frère, est arrivée dans les jungles de Putumayo pour donner une formation sur les droits de l’homme à l’armée. Ils étaient venus à la demande du général de brigade Alberto Sepúlveda, commandant de la 27e brigade de la jungle de l’armée, la première unité antinarcotique de Colombie à avoir été financée par les États-Unis.

La fondation fait partie des Jeunes pour les droits de l’homme international (Youth for Human Rights International — YHRI), qui, à son tour, est la branche pour les jeunes de l’association Tous unis pour les droits de l’homme (United for Human Rights), une association indépendante à but non lucratif soutenue par l’église de Scientology dont le siège se trouve à Los Angeles. Elle compte des groupes affiliés dans le monde entier. La mission de la fondation est d’enseigner les droits de l’homme aux jeunes pour qu’ils deviennent des défenseurs à vie de la tolérance et de la paix. C’est dans cet objectif que les Povedas et leur équipe ont passé 10 jours à former les 53 instructeurs qui sont responsables d’apprendre les droits de l’homme à 12 000 militaires et à leur famille de tout le Putumayo.

Les militaires en Colombie travaillent avec la fondation depuis 2009, quand l’association à but non lucratif a été créée avec Sandra et Felipe dans leurs rôles respectifs de présidente et de directeur général (Felipe est actuellement le président de la fondation.) En mai de cette année-là, le ministre de la Défense à l’époque, M. Juan Manuel Santos, qui est le président actuel de la Colombie, a ouvert l’école des droits de l’homme et du droit humanitaire international de l’armée nationale de Colombie à Bogotá, suite à l’affaire qui a fait scandale en 2008 où des soldats véreux avaient exécuté 900 civils parce qu’ils voulaient réclamer des primes pour avoir fait leur quota de morts chez les rebelles.

Sandra Poveda reçoit une médaille de mérite du ministère de la Défense de la Colombie.
Reconnaissance Sandra Poveda, de l’association Des jeunes pour les droits de l’homme, reçoit une médaille de mérite du ministère de la Défense de la Colombie.

Durant leur visite à Putumayo l’année dernière, les Poveda et leur équipe ont présenté aux jeunes instructeurs un livret qui occupe la place centrale du programme de YHRI. La publication qui s’intitule Les droits de l’homme, qu’est-ce que c’est ? décrit les 30 principes énoncés dans la Déclaration des droits de l’homme des Nations unies de 1948, qui soutient que les gens ont, partout, un droit égal à la justice, à l’éducation et à l’emploi.

Pendant ce temps, au fin fond des forêts tropicales amazoniennes, le général de brigade Sepúlveda allait ajouter un chapitre à l’histoire de la fondation : il a ordonné à son bataillon de former une « piste d’instruction des droits de l’homme » — une chaîne de kiosques dans la forêt où les soldats regardaient un documentaire primé, L’histoire des droits de l’homme, qui décrit les 30 principes de la Déclaration des droits de l’homme de l’ONU. Les kiosques montraient aussi des spots d’information pour apprendre aux soldats les 30 principes.

Pour illustrer la Déclaration des droits de l’homme, les soldats faisaient des sketchs devant les autres sur chacun des droits les plus importants dans leurs relations avec la population locale. Portant de véritables armes et avec du faux sang, les troupes faisaient des sketchs réels qui montraient les façons non éthiques et éthiques de s’occuper des trafiquants de drogues. Au dernier compte, plus de 1 600 soldats du général de brigade Sepúlveda ont suivi cette formation interactive, qui fait partie du programme quotidien du bataillon.

En juin 2015, plus de 47 000 soldats de l’armée nationale colombienne avaient assisté à des conférences données par des bénévoles de la fondation et des instructeurs militaires. En tout, 300 000 membres des forces armées de la Colombie, la majorité des troupes sur la ligne de front, ont été formés, selon les chiffres que le lieutenant Col. Anstrongh Polania, le chef du département juridique du ministère de la Défense de la Colombie, a fournis à la fondation.

Des soldats de l’armée colombienne lisent l’histoire des droits de l’homme.
Rééducation Des soldats de l’armée colombienne lisent L’histoire des droits de l’homme, un texte de base du programme pédagogique.

L’effet général que cela a eu pour ce qui est du respect des droits de l’homme a été véritablement stupéfiant. Dans une lettre à la fondation, le directeur de l’école colombienne des droits de l’homme de l’armée à Bogotá a déclaré que les campagnes de la fondation avaient contribué à une chute de 96 pour cent des violations des droits de l’homme dans l’armée. En septembre 2015, le ministère de la Défense de la Colombie a décerné à la fondation la médaille José Hilario López Valdés en reconnaissance de ses efforts pour promouvoir les droits de l’homme. Cette décoration prestigieuse doit son nom au neuvième président de la Colombie, qui a aboli l’esclavage et a soutenu la liberté de la presse au milieu du XIXe siècle.

Encouragés par les résultats de ses accomplissements, la fondation a commencé la même formation en Équateur, le pays voisin, en avril 2016. Les forces de sécurité de l’Équateur, qui partagent une frontière avec le Putumayo, ont été critiquées pour leur emploi de la force contre des manifestants pacifiques en 2015. La fondation a aussi lancé une application en ligne cette année qui permet de prendre un cours des droits de l’homme et d’obtenir un certificat virtuel à l’issue du programme. L’armée et la police faisaient partie des premiers à l’utiliser.

Quand ils contemplent les nombreux défis des droits de l’homme à relever dans la société, Sandra et Felipe Poveda se rappellent de ce qui s’est passé à Putumayo, qui signifie littéralement « rivière jaillissante » dans le langage des personnes indigènes là-bas, et l’endroit où la fondation a commencé.

« Nous sommes en train de créer une culture des droits de l’homme à Putumayo, une terre de guerre et de criminalité », Felipe Poveda a fait remarquer en mai cette année. Si nous pouvons enseigner les droits de l’homme ici, nous pouvons les enseigner n’importe où. »

OTHER ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Data Demon issue cover
February 2017
Vol. 49, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. The Shocking Truth issue cover
October 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. Military Spending issue cover
June-July 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 2
Freedom Magazine. Pill Pushers issue cover
April-May 2016
Vol. 48, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Back to School issue cover
September 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 8
Freedom Magazine. Veterans issue cover
August 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 7
Freedom Magazine. Infrastructure issue cover
July 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 6
Freedom Magazine. Net Freedom issue cover
June 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 5
Freedom Magazine. Patriot Games issue cover
May 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Freedom of Information Act issue cover
April 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. People Who Read Are a Dying Breed issue cover
March 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 2
Get Religion? issue cover
February 2015
Vol. 47, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Scientology Expansion issue cover
December 2014 Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Held Back issue cover
November 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 4
Freedom Magazine. Created Equal issue cover
October 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 3
Freedom Magazine. LA Under the Influence issue cover
September 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 2
Military: Are They Drugged to Death issue cover
August 2014
Vol. 46, Issue 1

FLORIDA ISSUES

Freedom Magazine. The Year in Review issue cover
December 2016
Clearwater Special Edition
Freedom Magazine. Clearwater Building cover
Special Clearwater Edition.
August 2015
Freedom Magazine. Building a Great City issue cover
Florida.
Vol. 20, Issue 1
Freedom Magazine. Flag issue cover
July 2014
Special Edition
PUBLISHED BY
Church of Scientology
since 1968
SHARE
Colombia: Rebels, Military & Human Rights

Colombia: Rebels, Military & Human Rights

For years, Colombia’s efforts to curb narcotics production have focused on Putumayo, a lush, southwestern province with a tortured history of subjugation, insurgency, violence and exile. “One day the army passes through, the next day it’s the guerrillas, and the following day it’s the paramilitaries,” a local community leader once lamented, alluding to the half-century war between the Colombian military, right-wing militias and the Revolutionary Armed Forces of Colombia (FARC), a Marxist-Leninist group that reached a peace accord with the government in September. Although Colombians narrowly rejected the historic agreement in a referendum days later, both sides have pledged to uphold the peace and work toward a final resolution.

Colombians got a hint of their nation’s transition from chronic war to relative harmony in November 2015, when a Youth for Human Rights Colombia Foundation team led by Colombian dentist Sandra Poveda and her brother Felipe Poveda arrived in the jungles of Putumayo to offer human rights training to the military. They had come at the request of Brig. Gen. Alberto Sepúlveda, commanding officer of the 27th Jungle Army Brigade, Colombia’s first U.S.-funded counter-narcotics unit.

The Foundation is part of Youth for Human Rights International (YHRI), which, in turn, is the youth component of United for Human Rights, a Church of Scientology-supported independent, nonprofit organization that has hundreds of groups, clubs and chapters around the world. The Foundation’s mission is to teach young people about human rights so that they become lifelong advocates for tolerance and peace. It was with that aim in mind that the Povedas and their team members spent 10 days training 53 instructors responsible for imparting human rights education to 12,000 military personnel and their families across Putumayo.

The Colombian military has been working with the Foundation since 2009, when the nonprofit was created with Sandra as president and Felipe as executive director (Felipe is currently the Foundation’s president.) In May that year, then Minister of Defense Juan Manuel Santos, currently Colombia’s president, inaugurated the School of Human Rights and International Humanitarian Law of the National Army of Colombia in Bogotá in the aftermath of a 2008 scandal in which rogue soldiers executed some 900 civilians in an attempt to claim bounties.

Sandra Poveda receives national medal from Colombia’s Defense Ministry
Recognition Youth for Human Rights’ Sandra Poveda receives national medal from Colombia’s Defense Ministry.

During their visit to Putumayo last year, the Poveda siblings and their teammates introduced young instructors to a booklet that is at the core of the YHRI program. Titled What Are Human Rights?, the publication describes the 30 principles enshrined in the 1948 United Nations Declaration of Human Rights, which holds that people everywhere are equally entitled to their rights to justice, education and employment.

Deep in Putumayo’s Amazonian rainforests, meanwhile, Brig. Gen. Sepúlveda was busy adding a new chapter to the Foundation’s history: he ordered his battalion to form a “human rights instruction track”—a chain of kiosks in the forest where soldiers watched an award-winning documentary film, The Story of Human Rights, which outlines the 30 principles of the U.N. Declaration of Human Rights. The kiosks also featured awareness-raising public service announcements about the 30 principles.

To bring the Declaration of Human Rights principles to life, the soldiers enacted for their peers each of the rights most relevant to their interactions with local populations. Armed with real weapons and sporting fake blood, the troops performed true-to-life scenarios in which they demonstrated the unethical and ethical ways to handle drug traffickers. According to the latest count, more than 1,600 of Brig. Gen. Sepúlveda’s soldiers have received such interactive training, which is part of the battalion’s daily schedule.

As of June 2015, more than 47,000 personnel of the Colombian National Army had participated in lectures delivered by Foundation volunteers and military instructors. In all, 300,000 members of Colombia’s armed forces, a majority of active frontline personnel, have been trained in humanitarian issues, according to figures that Lt. Col. Anstrongh Polania, chief of the Department of Joint Operational Law in Colombia’s Ministry of Defense, provided to the Foundation.

Colombian Army soldiers read from The Story of Human Rights.
Reeducation Colombian Army soldiers read from The Story of Human Rights, a basic text of the education program.

The overall effect on human rights has been nothing short of astounding. In a letter to the Foundation, the director of the Colombian military’s human rights school in Bogotá stated that the Foundation’s campaigns had contributed to a 96-percent decrease in the armed forces’ human rights violations. In September 2015, Colombia’s Ministry of Defense awarded the Foundation the [General] José Hilario López Valdés medal in recognition of their efforts to promote human rights. The prestigious award is named after the ninth president of Colombia, who abolished slavery and championed the freedom of the press in the mid-19th century.

Encouraged by the results of its human right achievements, the Foundation began a similar training exercise in neighboring Ecuador in April 2016. Security forces in Ecuador, which shares a border with Putumayo, were criticized for using force against peaceful protestors in 2015. The Foundation also launched an online app this year that allows anyone to take a human rights course and obtain a virtual certificate of completion. Military and police personnel have been among the first people to use the app.

Looking at the world’s numerous human rights challenges, Sandra and Felipe Poveda are reminded of their experiences in Putumayo, which means “gushing river” in the language of its indigenous people, and where the Foundation began its earliest work.

“We are creating a human rights culture in Putumayo, a land of war and criminality,” Felipe Poveda remarked in May this year. “If we can teach human rights here, we can teach them anywhere.”